26 winners for the first BCA Universal Design Mark Award

Wednesday, 8 May 2013

- New BCA Universal Design Mark encourages more exemplary Universal Design features in buildings. 
- Platinum awards for Reflections at Keppel Bay and United World College of South East Asia (East Campus).

Singapore, 8 May 2013 - The Building and Construction Authority (BCA) conferred its first Universal Design Mark Award (???????) to 26 winning buildings with exemplary Universal Design features. Among the 26, the Platinum winners of the Award are Reflections at Keppel Bay, a private residential development, and education institution United World College of South East Asia (East Campus).

Newly introduced in October 2012, the BCA Universal Design Mark Award is a voluntary certification scheme that encourages building owners, developers and architects to include or retrofit their buildings and developments with Universal Design features. The Award is part of BCA's effort in developing a City of All Ages which allows people of all ages and abilities to live, work, learn and play. Details are in Annex A (26KB .pdf).

BCA Chief Executive Officer Dr. John Keung said, "By introducing the Universal Design Mark as a certification scheme, we are highlighting the importance of a 'Design for All' built environment. It is significant that the UD Mark scheme also assesses projects at their design stage, as we want to encourage building owners, developers and designers to consider and incorporate Universal Design at the very start of their development process."

Platinum winner: Reflections at Keppel Bay

Private residential development, Reflections at Keppel Bay, was given the highest accolade for the developer and architect's outstanding provision of user-friendly features. The development stands out not only for its iconic architectural presence, but also for its outstanding user-friendly and Universal Design features.

Notably, although the design of Reflections at Keppel Bay was developed based on the 2002 edition of BCA's Code on Accessibility, its Platinum status recognises the extra efforts by its developers and architects in creating a development that is inclusive and ahead of its time.

With its lush landscaping, spacious resting areas and leisure pools as well as elder and family-friendly features, Reflections at Keppel Bay is a comfortable and relaxing environment that allows people of all ages and abilities to enjoy.

To help its residents and visitors find their way, the architect used a creative design for its signs, which are in the form of a cube that makes it easy for users to find their way around the development. For each residential block, there is a specially designed door for wheelchair users such that they need only minimum effort to move in and out without any assistance.

Platinum winner: United World College of South East Asia (East Campus)

The United World College of South East Asia (East Campus) was the Gold winner of last year's Universal Design Award. Its conferment of Platinum status in 2013 is a clear recognition of how its developer and architects have gone further ahead and improved significantly the level of user-friendliness of the campus.

The College campus' elevated landscape connects the four academic blocks to other facilities such as the main plaza, playing field, rest and discussion areas. With its large signboards, and creative use of cultural motifs and colours for each block, students and visitors to the College can find their way around easily.

The developer and architect's dedication to Universal Design also extends to details such as the careful separation of pedestrian and vehicular traffic for students of different ages around the College grounds and a nursing / lactation room for its staff.

Other winners

Besides these two Platinum-certified winners, these developments were also given BCA Universal Design Mark GoldPlus certifications (in no order of merit):
- Changi Airport Terminal 1 
- JCube 
- Mapletree Business City 
- Pasir Ris Sports and Recreation Centre

Other Award winners are in Annex B (479KB .pdf).

Chairman of the Assessment Committee, Professor Bertil Andersson, who is President, Nanyang Technological University, and former BCA Board Member, said, "Through the awards, we want to encourage architects and developers to consider creative Universal Design features for their projects, making our built environment more inclusive. It is not about state-of-the-art design, but rather good, accessible and thoughtful design. We hope that more industry players will incorporate Universal Design principles at the planning stage of their projects, because a friendly built environment is important for enabling everyone, including the young, elderly and persons with special needs, to enjoy an active and independent lifestyle. We congratulate all the award-winners and hope to see more of their innovative designs in the years to come."

The BCA Awards ceremony will be held on the evening of 16 May 2013 at the Resorts World Sentosa. Guest-of-Honour Senior Minister of State for Trade and Industry, and National Development Mr. Lee Yi Shyan will present the award winners with a BCA Universal Design Mark plaque during the ceremony.

Issued by the Building and Construction Authority on 8 May 2013

About Building and Construction Authority

The Building and Construction Authority (BCA) of Singapore champions the development of an excellent built environment for Singapore. At BCA, our mission is to shape a safe, high quality, sustainable and friendly built environment, as these are four key elements where BCA has a significant influence. In doing so, we aim to differentiate Singapore's built environment from those of other cities and contribute to a better quality of life for everyone in Singapore. Hence, our vision is to have "the best built environment for Singapore, our distinctive global city". BCA works closely with its education hub, the BCA Academy of the Built Environment, and industry partners to develop skills and expertise that help shape the best built environment for Singapore. For more information, visit www.bca.gov.sg.

About the BCA Universal Design Mark

Universal Design (UD) means "design for all" and helps to make our built environment more inclusive.

Introduced in October 2012, the BCA Universal Design Mark is a voluntary certification scheme that promotes Universal Design and encourages the building industry to incorporate it in their developments and projects. The Award recognises developments and projects where their developers and architects pursued a design philosophy that enables everyone - the young, the old and persons with different abilities - to enjoy inclusive living in familiar surroundings with their loved ones This scheme assesses projects at their design stage, facilitating the incorporation of Universal Design at the start of their development. Once completed, the development or project will be awarded a display plaque, indicating one of the four Universal Design Mark ratings: Certified, Gold, GoldPLUS or Platinum. For on-going projects, Universal Design Mark ratings will be determined based on design and indicated as Certified (design), Gold (design) or GoldPLUS(design).



Universal Design Mark Award (26KB .pdf)

The 2013 winners (479KB .pdf)

Portable document format version of the media release is also available (577KB .pdf).

Popular e-Services


The Construction Workforce Registration System (CWRS) is an online portal for CoreTrade and Multi-skilling registration and the renewal of Direct R1 eligibility.

Online Registration for Verification System

ORV allows you to register the workers for Identity Verification and check your registration status online.

Lifts and Escalators Application (LEAP) Portal

Lift and escalator owners, contractors and Specialist Professional Engineers (SPEs) can apply for and view applications for Permit to Operate (PTO) here.