JTC, first infrastructure specialist to clinch Green Mark Champion Award

Tuesday, 14 May 2013

Singapore, 14 May 2013 - Having clinched ten projects with Green Mark Gold and above, including 6 Platinum, 3 Goldplus awards and 1 Gold, JTC Corporation (JTC) is the only organisation to receive the Green Mark Champion award this year. To qualify as BCA's Green Mark Champion, the developer or building owner is expected to deliver at least 3 Green Mark Platinum, 3 GoldPlus and 4 Gold projects. One of JTC's Platinum awards was given to CleanTech Park for its green district design.

The Green Mark Champion Award is presented to leading developers and building owners who have demonstrated strong commitment towards Corporate Social Responsibility by actively promoting and driving Singapore's green building movement. There are two levels for the award, namely, the Green Mark Champion and Platinum Champion. To attain the Green Mark Platinum Champion Award, the winner must deliver at least 15 Green Mark Platinum, 15 GoldPlus and 20 Gold projects. There is no Green Mark Platinum Champion winner amongst this year's projects.

Mr Png Cheong Boon, CEO of JTC, said, "JTC is honoured to receive the BCA Green Mark Champion Award for 2013, which is testament to JTC's growing commitment to environmental sustainability. As Singapore's leading industrial infrastructure specialist, it is crucial for JTC to play an active leadership role in environmental sustainability and stewardship. Sustainability is a key consideration in our master plans and developments, and we are continuously stepping up on our efforts to address environmental challenges in a pragmatic manner."

"BCA is pleased to confer this award to JTC Corporation for seeing through their commitment towards environmental sustainability. Apart from greening their building projects, they have also embraced green district design under the Green Mark for Districts scheme for Cleantech Park, the first project to attain the highest Green Mark Platinum rating since its launch in October 2009. In developing Singapore as a model green city, we need to move towards this green paradigm, of green buildings, green districts, parks and other infrastructure and facilities to enable us to achieve social, economic and environmental sustainability. BCA encourages more owners, developers and master planners to set their sights on attaining the BCA Green Mark Champion and Platinum Champion status to firmly anchor themselves as champions for sustainability of our environment," said Dr John Keung, CEO, BCA.

Sustainability at the Heart of JTC's Development Projects

As Singapore's leading industrial infrastructure specialist and a socially responsible corporate citizen, JTC Corporation (JTC) creates value for customers by developing sustainable and future ready industrial infrastructure solutions that will differentiate Singapore as an investment location. Landmark projects by JTC customised for industry clusters include CleanTech Park, Jurong Island, Seletar Aerospace Park, water fabrication parks, Tuas Biomedical Parks, and Biopolis, Fusionopolis and Mediapolis at one-north. Other key projects in JTC's portfolio include Tukang Innovation Park, MedTech Park, business parks, as well as logistics hubs. Today, these industrial estates and business parks are home to a host of renowned global companies and promising local enterprises.

Sustainability is a key driver of JTC's innovative culture, and is recognised as the way forward for industrial developments. Green building strategies and eco-friendly features are actively being incorporated in JTC's developments, and innovative technologies and initiatives are being test-bedded by JTC to optimise resources. JTC also strives to explore creative space solutions to increase land productivity in land-scarce Singapore with groundbreaking projects such as the Jurong Rock Caverns, Southeast Asia's first subterranean storage facility for liquid hydrocarbons.


- 10 projects awarded with BCA Green Mark (including 6 Platinum and 3 Goldplus awards)

About BCA Green Mark Champion Award

The BCA Green Mark Champion Award was launched at BCA Awards 2008. This award recognises developers with strong commitment towards corporate social responsibility and outstanding achievements in environmental sustainability. It is given to developers who achieve a substantial number of Green Mark buildings at Gold level and higher.

There are two categories for the award: 
- BCA Green Mark Champion 
- BCA Green Mark Platinum Champion

Besides demonstrating strong commitment towards corporate social responsibility and environmental sustainability, developers must meet these criteria to qualify:

Assessment Criteria

Minimum number of buildings certified with the following rating BCA Green Mark Champion BCA Green Mark Platinum Champion
Green Mark Gold & above At least 10 At least 50
Green Mark GoldPlus & above At least 6 At least 15
Green Mark Platinum At least 3 At least 15

Portable document format version of the media release is also available (370KB .pdf).



Popular e-Services


The Construction Workforce Registration System (CWRS) is an online portal for CoreTrade and Multi-skilling registration and the renewal of Direct R1 eligibility.

Online Registration for Verification System

ORV allows you to register the workers for Identity Verification and check your registration status online.

Lifts and Escalators Application (LEAP) Portal

Lift and escalator owners, contractors and Specialist Professional Engineers (SPEs) can apply for and view applications for Permit to Operate (PTO) here.