Frequently Asked Questions

1. What’s the difference between the Green Building Individual Awards (GBIA) and Sustainability Leadership Awards?

Since 2017, GBIA has been subsumed under the SGBC-BCA Sustainability Leadership Awards to provide a more holistic coverage of all awards towards sustainability in the built environment. The Sustainability Leadership Awards is made up of three main categories:

  • Green Building Individual Award
  • Business Leadership in Sustainability Award
  • Leadership in Sustainable Design and Performance Award

2. Who are the past winners?

3. How do I apply for the Young category award?

Eligible nominees for the five main categories (Advocate, Architect, Engineer, Innovator and Facilities Manager) who are below the age of 40 in the year of assessment are automatically eligible for the Young category award.

4. How is the Young category award assessed?

You may nominate yourself or be nominated by a fellow practitioner or professional through a report submission for the first round of evaluation. Please refer to our nomination guide for the five main categories for detailed submission criteria for the report. Common weightage is applied to all five main categories to enable cross-assessment of shortlisted nominees. 

5. What is the selection process like?

Evaluation is based on nominees’ report submissions. Sub-panels will be formed to assess nominations for each category and firm up recommendations. The SGBC Board and BCA will then endorse these recommendations. The sub-panel comprises members from BCA and SGBC with relevant expertise and experience.

Popular e-Services


The Construction Workforce Registration System (CWRS) is an online portal for CoreTrade and Multi-skilling registration and the renewal of Direct R1 eligibility.

Online Registration for Verification System

ORV allows you to register the workers for Identity Verification and check your registration status online.

Online PTO System

Lift and escalator owners, contractors and Authorised Examiners (AEs) can apply for and view applications for Permit to Operate (PTO) here.