Bca Integrated Construction Quality Assurance (Icqa) Scheme

BCA has introduced the Integrated Construction Quality Assurance (ICQA) scheme as a new alternative certification to the built environment firms’ quality management system. 

Firms that are currently registered or intend to register under the Contractor Registration System (CRS)for public sector projects and wish to set higher standards for themselves could opt for ICQA in lieu of the generic ISO certification requirement. 

What is ICQA? 

ICQA provides a framework for firms to develop a system for quality delivery using technologies, with a focus on achieving customer satisfaction through defects prevention. Firms applying for ICQA will be audited based on the following framework, criteria and score weightages: 


ICQA criteria





1.1 Senior Leadership

1.2 Organisation Culture



2.1 Customer Needs

2.2 Customer Satisfaction



3.1 Corporate and Department Planning

3.2 Implementing Changes




4.1 Human Capital Management

4.2 Employee Learning and Development

4.3 Employee Performance Management




5.1 Information Management

5.2 Integrated Digital Delivery

5.3 Analysis of Knowledge




6.1 Project Management

6.2 Site Management

6.3 Quality Assurance and Control

6.4 Suppliers Management

6.5 Service Management



7.1 Cultivation of Innovation

7.2 Innovations




8.1 Customer Results

8.2 People Results

8.3 Process Results

8.4 CompliancePerformance

8.5 Awards

Ranking of firm’s performance 

To help firms develop their performance holistically, firms need to achieve minimally 50% of the total marks in each ICQA category. Firms will be graded under a 3-tiered rating where they could benchmark against their peers, as follows:


Assessment method and effort

ICQA assessment will be jointly conducted by the firms and BCA assessors. Firms will first conduct a self-assessment and submit a report to BCA before the actual assessment by BCA. BCA assessors will focus on the firms’ performance instead of checking for procedural compliance. 

Recognition of ICQA 

ICQA certification is an alternative registration requirement in Contractors Registration System (CRS) for CW01/CW02 Workhead A and B grade builders from 1stJuly 2019.

Who can apply? 

All builders are eligible to apply for ICQA.

Popular e-Services


The Construction Workforce Registration System (CWRS) is an online portal for CoreTrade and Multi-skilling registration and the renewal of Direct R1 eligibility.

Overseas Testing Management System

OTMS allows you to register the workers for Identity Verification and to check your registration status online.

Lifts and Escalators Application (LEAP) Portal

Lift and escalator owners, contractors and Specialist Professional Engineers (SPEs) can apply for and view applications for Permit to Operate (PTO) here.