Universal Design index Self Assessment Framework

The Universal Design index self-assessment framework (UDi) is a tool introduced by BCA in June 2022 as an initiative to raise the bar on UD adoption in developments.

Universal Design index

The UDi is integrated with Building Plan (BP) and Temporary Occupation Permit (TOP) / Certificate of Statutory Completion (CSC) approval processes and consist of a self-help UDi checklist to,
  • Enable Qualified Persons (QPs) and developers to learn about and consider user-friendly features that could be provided in their projects; and
  • Obtain an indicative measure and rating of the level of user-friendliness for their projects.

 All applicable projects which are first applying for BP, TOP or CSC on or after 1 September 2022 will be required to complete and submit the UDi checklist as part of their application. The completed UDi checklist can be submitted at https://go.gov.sg/bcaudi-sub and the acknowledgement is to be included in the BP and TOP/CSC application.


Universal Design Rating

A building/development which had provided user-friendly features beyond the minimum requirements specified in the Code on Accessibility in the Built Environment would be able to obtain a Universal Design Rating ranging from A to D

  • A – Excellent Universal Design provisions, catering well to all user groups
  • B – Good Universal Design provisions, catering well to most user groups
  • C – Fair Universal Design provisions, catering to some user groups
  • D – Basic Universal Design provisions

A UDi guide was also released to assist architects, designers and building owners understand the framework, procedures and applicability of the UDi. The handbook also provides explanatory notes and photo examples to enhance awareness and understanding of the listed user-friendly features. Interested parties can also refer to this list of Frequently Asked Questions.

Universal Design Excellence Award

To spur the pursuit of exemplary UD implementation in buildings and innovations in user-friendly designs, projects that are outstanding will be recognised with the Universal Design Excellence Award.

Between 2013 and 2021, BCA had also certified projects using the UD Mark Certification Scheme. Please click here for the list of projects certified under the scheme.

Popular e-Services


The Construction Workforce Registration System (CWRS) is an online portal for CoreTrade and Multi-skilling registration and the renewal of Direct R1 eligibility.

Overseas Testing Management System

OTMS allows you to register the workers for Identity Verification and to check your registration status online.

Lifts and Escalators Application (LEAP) Portal

Lift and escalator owners, contractors and Specialist Professional Engineers (SPEs) can apply for and view applications for Permit to Operate (PTO) here.